Little World Shadow Boxes

30 Jun

Little World Shadow Box DIYI love shadow boxes.  There are so many kinds and they have endless possibilities.  I introduced these little worlds to the campers on Friday to lots of “oohs and ahhhs.”  I’m excited to see what they come up with.  I gave them the option of using the top or bottom of these boxes I picked up from Michaels.  I had some paper prepped in the right size for the backgrounds but I also have blank and patterned paper on hand so they can make their own choices.  The top is a glued on piece of transparency paper with puffy paint dots along the edges for a final touch.  Last step is to glue on silver chain so the kids can hang them on the wall.  You can also use leather straps or rope.  I used some tape to hold the chain in place while the mega E6000 glue dried.  This glue is my new savior for everything.  I am hoping the kids come up with some new ways to make these boxes awesome.  I am already seeing little people being made and getting requests for sculpey.  We’ll see what happens on Monday.  I try to make all my projects as open-ended as possible.  All aspects are optional, including doing the project at all.  We usually have a few stations going at once, which works out nicely.  It’s camp, so I want to create a relaxed and fun space.  The kids seem to respond to it really well.

Little World Shadow Box DIYThe shadow box below was created by an 8 year old.  It’s a rainy day scene.  I love how she used the pattern on the background paper to represent the rain.

Little World Shadow Box DIY

One Response to “Little World Shadow Boxes”

  1. kimberly tragerman July 3, 2013 at 6:06 pm #

    the shadow boxes look great!! I’m sure the kids will love makeing them!!

Leave a Reply

