Cardboard Sensory Boxes for Toddlers and Babies

28 Sep

Sensory Boxes for Babies and Toddlers - What to do with a cardboard BoxA friend recently offered me a bunch of boxes in hopes that I might be able to use them for play group.  I said yes right away because I’ve been wanting to make a cardboard city for months.  Isn’t that on everyone’s top ten list of things to do?  Anyway, the boxes were kind of narrow for the most part so a city that the kids could crawl threw didn’t seem feasible.  I decided to get out the duct tape and just see what happened.  I am sooo ecstatic with the results.  I made four boxes.  One box was a long skinny boat.  Another box was a sensory board with rice bags in rainbow colors.  One box was covered in ribbon strands and the last one, my favorite, I taped up and cut out different shapes for exploration.  There was something for everyone.

Sensory Rice Box for Toddlers and Babies - What to do with a cardboard boxSensory Boxes with Rice for Babies and Toddlers - What to do with a cardboard BoxSensory Boxes for Babies and Toddlers - What to do with a cardboard BoxSensory Rice Box for Toddlers and Babies - What to do with a cardboard boxSensory Boxes for Babies and Toddlers - What to do with a cardboard BoxThe kids really loved the shape box.  I think it was the most engaging and involved the most thinking.  We ended up using it as a dinosaur drop box.  It was great watching the kids figure out which dinosaurs would fit where.  Any dinosaurs that didn’t fit the kids placed on the box to watch.  This little cutie was fascinated by the dinosaurs that went inside the box.  “Where did they go?” He did his best to see.

Sensory Boxes for Babies and Toddlers - What to do with a cardboard BoxSensory Boxes for babies and toddlers - What to do with a cardboard boxcarboard sensory boxes for babies and toddlersSo, we didn’t make a cardboard city but we managed to have a really great time.

Sensory Boxes for Babies and Toddlers - What to do with a cardboard BoxZero to Two Fantastic Play Ideas for Your Baby and Toddler! This ebook is AMAZING!

16 Responses to “Cardboard Sensory Boxes for Toddlers and Babies”

  1. Ashley September 29, 2013 at 10:21 pm #

    How adorable! I bet my 2 year old would enjoy these!

  2. SS October 1, 2013 at 3:17 am #

    How did you keep the kiddies from ripping them apart?

    • Meri Cherry October 10, 2013 at 9:31 pm #

      Surprisingly it wasn’t an issue. I guess we just got lucky : )

  3. Ana María October 6, 2013 at 6:17 pm #

    excelente experiencia de exploración

  4. Audrey October 24, 2013 at 1:29 am #

    Holy duct tape! You must have spent a fortune on the stuff!

    • Meri Cherry October 24, 2013 at 3:50 am #

      Ha. Luckily, I had accumulated quite a collection and definitely used my teacher discount at Michael’s!

  5. jackie @ happy hooligans October 27, 2013 at 5:45 am #

    Man, the possibilities are endless when it comes to a cardboard box, aren’t they? I absolutely love what you did with yours! Isn’t it interesting that the shapes were the most engaging? i think the ribbon one is my favourite. I need to get my hands on some big boxes!

    • Meri Cherry October 31, 2013 at 5:39 am #

      Totally endless! I keep thinking of more I want to make. So much fun. Thanks for stopping by!

  6. quiltykanuck February 5, 2014 at 5:42 pm #

    I just love this! My little man is obsessed with ribbons, laces, strings… This would be such a great way to get him stimulated and practicing sitting up!

    • Meri Cherry February 6, 2014 at 6:07 pm #

      Great! My girls love this kind of thing. Let me know if you make one!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Rainbow Jello Sensory Play for Babies and Toddlers | MeriCherry - September 30, 2013

    […] Play group was extra sticky and extra fun this week.  It’s really interesting to see what sensory activities work right away for kids and what takes a little getting used to.  Rainbow jello for the little ones was a little touch and go.  Some loved it and sat right in the tub and others had one touch and said no thank you.  This is definitely something I want to do again so that those that were a little tentative can have a second go at it.  I think there is great value in repeating activities. […]

  2. Sensory Boxes for Babies and Toddlers – Part Two | MeriCherry - October 11, 2013

    […] Sensory boxes from cardboard and duct tape were such a big hit at play group a few weeks ago, I decided to make more.  I would love to make a whole sensory box city some day.  That would be so cool.  Anyway, these were a big hit as well.  The first one was a big box with velcroed shapes on it.  The kids loved pulling the shapes off and putting them back over and over again.  It was great for all ages and I love the educational component.  Once a teacher… […]

  3. Baby Play Ideas | dotspots&carrots - November 17, 2013

    […] Sensory Boxes / Sensory Water Bag […]

  4. Glow in the Dark Dancing Ballerina Skirt – Because Why Not? | MeriCherry - February 11, 2014

    […] up some glow sticks, which are also available at the dollar store by the way.  We always have duct tape on hand, because I’m semi obsessed, and I got taping.  This was really really easy. […]

  5. Weekend Reads 2.21.14 | Not Just Cute - February 21, 2014

    […] Cardboard Sensory Boxes for Toddlers and Babies {Meri Cherry} […]

  6. Orașul colorat al cutiilor | UrbanKid.ro - February 26, 2014

    […] descoperit o mămică ce a reușit să transforme câteva cutii banale de carton în cele mai frumoase jucării pentru […]

Leave a Reply

