Make Your Own Kerplunk Game – Invitation to Play

17 Mar

Make your own kerplunk game for kidsEver since I saw this wire basket sculpture on Twodaloo, I couldn’t get it out of my mind.  Ohhh, the possibilities of this idea! I just love it so much.  I started to notice things with holes and grooves and different ways to use them.  Here is my first inspiration, a homemade Kerplunk game for kids.  Do you remember Kerplunk?  It was a game of risk where you had to strategically pull out sticks from a plastic tube one at a time, trying not to let the marbles resting on top fall to the bottom.  Now, with two toddlers in my house, I had to tone it down a bit, but I think we got the gist of it here thanks to these silverware containers from Ikea.  I give you straw and pom pom Kerplunk.  I hope you enjoy it.

Make your own kerplunk game for kidsMake your own kerplunk game for kidshttp://www.two-daloo.com/toddler-wire-basket-sculpture/Make your own kerplunk game for kidsMake your own kerplunk game for kidsMake your own kerplunk game for kids

17 Responses to “Make Your Own Kerplunk Game – Invitation to Play”

  1. maggiemaysgifts March 17, 2014 at 8:24 pm #

    Very creative! I’ve actually never played kerplunk, but with your easy DIY version, i might have to give it a try!:)

    • Meri Cherry March 17, 2014 at 8:59 pm #

      I hope you do! It’s really simple and great for lots of ages. My girls loved just pulling all the straws out everywhere : )

  2. Barbara March 18, 2014 at 9:44 am #

    I looked on Ikea’s website and can’t find those cylinders. Any other suggestions to use or where to find them?

  3. Theres Just One Mommy March 18, 2014 at 4:33 pm #

    Oh, I LOVE this! When they were younger I’d have mine put pipe cleaners in those little holes in the strainer…. Now they are older and need more of a challenge. Got to try this one!

    • Meri Cherry March 19, 2014 at 8:33 pm #

      Pipe cleaners sound great too! Hope your kids enjoy it! Thanks for stopping by!

  4. Diane Hurst March 19, 2014 at 11:18 pm #

    This looks like fun; how many straws have you been able to successfully pull out?

    • Meri Cherry March 22, 2014 at 4:31 am #

      Hi Diane, My girls are both under 3 so all the straws came out pretty fast regardless of the pom poms : )

      • Diane Hurst March 22, 2014 at 3:29 pm #

        ha ha! well, pulling them out is the funnest part:)

  5. jessica March 22, 2014 at 4:11 am #

    absolutely brilliant! i love it when we can see everyday objects in a new light. i need to get to ikea now…if only it weren’t 4 hours away.😉

    • Meri Cherry March 22, 2014 at 4:33 am #

      oh no! 4 hours is quite an effort for kerplunk : ) maybe do a mini mini version with toothpicks, marbles and a styrofoam cup ; )

  6. Stephanie Haass March 23, 2014 at 1:49 am #

    Soooo cooool! And thanks for the shoutout, my dear!!

  7. JDaniel4's Mom March 24, 2014 at 1:59 am #

    This looks like great fun! I love how it uses everyday objects!

    • Meri Cherry March 24, 2014 at 3:25 pm #

      Thanks! It’s so simple. Hope you give it a try!

Leave a Reply

